“Routine” Maintenance

(Ken) May 22 – May 23, 2013.  One of the first items I purchased for my tool box was an OBD II Code Reader to read error codes in the on board computer system should the check engine ever come on.  Luckily enough, it has paid for itself already!

Driving a motorhome full-time that is ten years old and has sat idle for most of its life is bound to have some issues from time to time.  I have expectations of things going awry from time to time.  And almost on schedule, at the 3,000 mile mark after changing the oil, the idiot light came on.

At the first opportunity, I pulled out the little hand-held device and interpreted the codes: change oil, ECG sensor malfunction, and Engine Knock Sensor activation.

After looking up the codes and how to fix them, I found they were either routine maintenance items (changing the oil) or caused by a number of outside factors (a bad tank of fuel, wire got wet, clogged fuel injector, quick elevation changes, or simply a broken sensor.)

Knowing I was going to be spending a week or so in Cheyenne, Wyoming, I searched for an authorized Workhorse repair shop.  To my surprise, when I called them, they recommended I take my motorhome to Haller’s Repair.  When I asked why, the shop manager simply said Haller’s knew more about the Workhorse chassis’ and would do a better job.  Sold me, and I called Haller’s.

After making an appointment and upon my arrival, I spoke with Jim Haller and inquired why they were not an “authorized repair facility.”  Jim told me they mainly worked on diesels but they had some issues in dealing directly with Workhorse in the past, so they preferred to stay independent. But he assured me they knew more about the Workhorse chassis than Workhorse probably did!

I told Jim what my issues were and he said he would have a mechanic take a look at everything and gave me a preliminary diagnosis and estimate.  The estimate came in lower than I expected, so we proceeded with getting everything fixed.

Their facility isn’t very large and we were parked on a side street initially.  To my surprise, a mechanic came out and crawled under the rig right there in the street!  Luckily, all of my readings matched theirs, but their fixes were much different that in the book.

Jim came out and sat with us in the motorhome and ran down the list of things he would like to do and adjusted the estimate.  I know what you are thinking; the price has now doubled.  Quite the contrary, the original estimate was lowered nearly $600.00.  What else could I say – let’s get it all done.

We agreed to fix/repair/replace anything broken: sticky starter and solenoid replaced with new, cracked/charred spark plug wires all replaced with new, replace all eight spark plugs with new and a bad battery ground wire end was re-soldered/cleaned/reconnected.

We also agreed to replace the transmission filter and clean/flush/replace the transmission fluid, replace the oil filter and refill with synthetic oil, replace the fuel filters and flush/clean the entire fuel system including the injectors and flush and replace the rear differential oil.  They also topped off all the other fluids as well.

They inspected the entire chassis (brakes and all) for us to make sure there wasn’t anything else in need of immediate repair or put us in any immediate danger should a failure occur – all of this, including labor and warranty for just under $1,400.  After all the work, I was more than confident we were ready to tackle the Rocky Mountains, the Grand Tetons, and any other mountain they could throw at us!

Jim and his team are great people, who do great work and are honest with you up front!  Whether a ploy or simply they are truly that genuine; they really seem to want you safe and sound out there on the road!

If you ever have a need for repair work on your motorhome while travelling on Interstate 80 or Interstate 25, regardless of make an/or model, gas or diesel – I HIGHLY recommend Haller’s Repair in Cheyenne, Wyoming!

Oh, I nearly forgot – while we waited to have our motorhome repaired it gave us some time to walk around that part of town.  A few blocks down the street from the repair shop was an indoor flea market; but not just any flea market.

The name escapes me now, but the small building is deceiving; this place seemed as if I was walking around in a Super Wal-Mart; it kept going and going.  And the organization was impeccable,  I’ve seen libraries less organized!  I do remember it was on Lincoln Way across the street from the new parking garage.  If you have the time, it is a must see if you like flea markets.

Nonetheless, we did manage to take a few pictures on our walk, I hope you enjoy them.  Until next time………….Cheers.

Categories: Maintenance & Hardware | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

